Saturday, April 23, 2016

Book Review: Winter

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4) Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana. Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Winter by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This would have been a lot better at about half the length. The same things kept happening over and over, except with different characters. And constant descriptions about what everyone was wearing and how they looked. And having four different romantic couples was a bit much. And the bad guys were hilariously incompetent.

If you loved the series to begin with, you'll probably love the ending. But if, like me, you're just reading to see how it all ends, you'll probably be annoyed and a bit bored.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Book Review: Only in Naples

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law—and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love.

  Only in Naples: Lessons in Food and Famiglia from My Italian Mother-in-LawOnly in Naples: Lessons in Food and Famiglia from My Italian Mother-in-Law by Katherine Wilson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Publication date: April 19, 2016
Source: Netgalley

I don't know what it was about this book that made me like it so much. On the surface, it's really not my style of book, but I requested it from Netgalley cause I was interested in reading more travel memoirs.

The writing style really drew me in, and I quite liked Katherine. I found her story really fun to read, even though nothing very exciting ever happened.

View all my reviews