Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Book Review: Backward Compatible

Backward Compatible: A Geek Love StoryBackward Compatible: A Geek Love Story by Sarah Daltry
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A YA Gamer Geek Comedy in the vein of Scott Pilgrim and Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist. Ideal for fans of The Big Bang Theory, The Guild, and all things Joss Whedon.

WARNING: There is no sex in this book. Your Kindle or other device will remain at a pleasant room temperature. At no point will your panties drop. Your significant other will be allowed to snore in peace as you read. You may, however, laugh yourself out of commission.

Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close... (insert Star Wars theme music here...)

It is a time of chaotic hormones.

Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release.

During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game's secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path.

Pursued by other gamers who want to be the first to beat this boss, George and Katie race to level up, and, in so doing, restore decency and sexual activity to their personal galaxy...

This was just a heck of a lot of fun. I really enjoyed reading it. If you're not into geek culture, you would probably hate this book. But if you like video games, sci-fi and fantasy books and movies, and that sort of thing, this might be right up your alley if you're looking for a bit of fluff.

Reader warning: there is a lot of swearing and overall crude humor.

No comments:

Post a Comment